Taxi Info for Yellow Cabs

Metered Fare Information
e On-screen rate is ‘Rate #01 — Standard City Rate’.
e The initial charge is $2.50.
e Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle is
stopped.
e |n moving traffic on Manhattan streets, the meter should “click” approximately every four

downtown blocks, or one block going cross-town (East-West).

e Thereis a 50 cent State Surcharge for all trips that end in New York City or the counties of
Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam.

e Thereis a 50 cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am daily.

e Thereis a surcharge of $1 from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays.

e Passenger must pay all bridge and tunnel tolls.

e  Your receipt will show your total fare including tolls. Please take your receipt.

e The driver is not required to accept bills over $20.

e Please feel free to tip for good service.

e There are no charges for extra passengers or bags.

Toll Information

e The passenger is responsible for paying all bridge and tunnel tolls.
o Use of E-Z Pass
A driver must use an E-Z Pass when taking a toll bridge or tunnel and must pass the
discounted toll amount to the passenger. The amount of the toll will be added to the
metered fare at the end of the trip.
e Round trip tolls
o Passengers must pay all tolls to and from the destination in Westchester and Nassau
Counties.
o Passengers must pay return tolls for trips over the Cross Bay Veterans, and Marine
Parkway-Gil Hodges Memorial Bridges.
o Passengers must pay for all tolls to and from Newark Airport.

Credit/Debit Cards
e You can pay for your trip with cash or credit/debit card.

e There are no minimum fares required for credit/debit card payment.
e There are no fees (surcharges) if you pay with your credit/debit card.
e You can pay for your trip using the following cards:

1. Any Visa credit card

2. Visa Signature debit card (Visa Check Card)

3. Any MasterCard credit card

4. MasterCard signature debit card (MasterMoney Card)



5. American Express Card
6. Discover Credit Card
7. JCB Card (not accepted in every cab)

Medallion Taxicab Passenger Bill of Rights
As a taxi rider, you have the right to:

e Adriver who has and uses E-Z Pass at all toll crossings that accept it, and who charges
passengers the discounted E-Z Pass rate;

e Pay for your ride with credit/debit card;

e Go to any destination in NYC, Westchester, Nassau, or Newark Airport;

e Direct the route taken: The most direct route or one of your choice;

e A safe and courteous driver who obeys all traffic laws;

o A knowledgeable driver who speaks English and knows City geography;

e Air conditioning or heat on request;

e A noise free trip: no horn honking or radio;

e Clean air. Smoke and scent free air;

e Working seatbelts for all passengers;

e A clean taxicab: interior, exterior and partition;

e Be accompanied by a service animal;

e Adriver who does not use a cell phone while driving (hand-held or hands free);

e Decline to tip for poor service.

Airport Trips
e To & From LaGuardia Airport:
This is a metered fare.

o On-screen rate is ‘Rate #01 — Standard City Rate’.
o Theinitial charge is $2.50
o Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle

is stopped. Plus tolls, surcharges, extras and as an option, tips.
o Thereis a 50 cent State Surcharge for all trips ending in New York City or Nassau,
Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam County.
There is a 50 cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am daily.
There is a surcharge of $1 from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays.

e To/From JFK and any location in Manhattan:
o Thisis a flat fare of $52 plus tolls and 50 cent MTA tax. On-screen rate is ‘Rate #02 — JFK
Airport’.
o Passenger is responsible for paying all tolls.

e From JFK to other New York City destinations:
o This is a metered fare.
o On-screen rate is ‘Rate #01 — Standard City Rate’.
o Theinitial charge is $2.50.



o Plus 50 cents per 1/5 mile or 50 cents per 60 seconds in slow traffic or when the vehicle
is stopped. Plus tolls, surcharges, extras and as an option, tips.

There is a 50 cent State Surcharge for all trips ending in New York City or Nassau,
Suffolk, Westchester, Rockland, Dutchess, Orange or Putnam County.

There is a 50 cent surcharge from 8pm to 6am daily.

There is a surcharge of $1 from 4pm to 8pm on weekdays excluding holidays.
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Tips are optional.

o To Newark Airport:
o Thisis a metered fare with an initial charge of $20 (517.50 Newark Surcharge plus initial
charge in city limit) plus the mileage/time charges plus all roundtrip tolls. On-screen
rate is ‘Rate #03 — Newark Airport.’ Tips are optional.

Contact the TLC

Lost Property, Questions, Comments, Complaints...
e Contact 311 or visit www.nyc.gov/311
e Qut of Town call 212-New York
e www.nyc.gov/taxi

Out of Town Trips

e Westchester & Nassau Counties:

o Fare = metered amount to City Limit ‘Rate Code #01 — Standard City’ + double the
metered amount from the City limit to your destination + roundtrip tolls and MTA tax.
Once the taxi goes beyond the city limit to Nassau or Westchester, the on-screen rate
message should read ‘Rate #04 — Out of City Rate to Nassau or Westchester’.
Additionally, a message should appear on screen alerting the passenger of the rate
change. Tips are optional. Passenger must pay all bridge and tunnel tolls.

e To Newark Airport:

o This is a metered fare with an initial charge of $20 (517.50 Newark surcharge plus initial
charge in city limit) plus the mileage/time charges plus all roundtrip tolls. On screen
rate is ‘Rate #03 — Newark Airport’. Tips are optional.

e Other Points Outside the City:

o The Driver may choose whether to take such trips. The fare must be mutually agreed-
upon before the trip may begin.

o Negotiated Flat Fare — The fare will be a Flat Rate negotiated between the Driver and
Passenger plus the MTA Tax must be added to the Flat Rate for any trip that ends in the
following: Counties of Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland or Suffolk. The on-screen
rate message should read ‘Rate #05 — Out of City Negotiated Flat Rate’. Tips are
optional.


http://www.nyc.gov/311
http://www.nyc.gov/taxi

Group Ride Information

e Two, three, or four people can take a group ride from a yellow taxi Group Ride Stand and pay a

flat rate.
Group Ride Pickup Route End Point Fare/Person 50 cent MTA Tax
Location
Port Authority Bus 59t St./6™ Ave $3.00 One Passenger Pays
York Avenue Financial District $6.00 One Passenger Pays

e Group Ride pickup times are 6am — 10am, Monday — Friday (excluding holidays).

e Drop-offs are restricted to the Group Rides route. The on-screen rate message should read
‘Rate # 06 — Group Rate.’




